Skip to main content Skip to Table of Contents
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Architectural Barriers Act

Accessibility Standards

About the ABA Accessibility Standards

Standards issued under the Architectural Barriers Act (ABA) apply to facilities designed, built, altered, or leased with federal funds. Passed in 1968, the ABA is one of the first laws to address access to the built environment.  The law applies to federal buildings, including post offices, social security offices, federal courthouses and prisons, and national parks.  It also covers non-federal facilities, such as public housing units and mass transit systems, built or altered with federal grants or loans.

Four agencies establish the ABA Standards according to guidelines issued by the Access Board: the General Services Administration (GSA), the Department of Defense (DOD), the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS).

This edition of the ABA Accessibility Standards has been adopted by GSA, DOD, and USPS:

HUD has not yet adopted this version of the standards and continues to apply the Uniform Federal Accessibility Standards (UFAS) to residential facilities under its jurisdiction.

The Access Board provides technical assistance and training on the ABA Standards and UFAS.  It also enforces the ABA Standards through the investigation of complaints.


Guide to the ABA Standards

The US Access Board has developed guides to the ABA Standards.

Technical Assistance

Contact the Access Board for guidance on these standards