Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


The Public Right-of-Way Accessibility Guidelines (PROWAG) rulemaking has concluded. The PROWAG final rule has been published in the Federal Register. Please visit the Access Board’s PROWAG page for the guidelines.

U.S. Access Board Conducts Panel Discussions on Self-Service Transaction Machines

May 24, 2021

The U.S. Access Board hosted panel discussions on access to self-service transaction machines (SSTMs) as part of its virtual Board meeting on May 19. One panel addressed usability issues and barriers that people with sensory, cognitive, physical, or multiple disabilities encounter using kiosks, point-of-sales machines, and other SSTMs. Speakers included representatives from the Blinded Veterans Association, the Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities, the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumer Advocacy Network, and the United Spinal Association.

A second panel discussed efforts by research and industry to improve access to SSTMs. Panelists included representatives from the Kiosk Manufacturer Association and the Trace Research and Development Center who addressed the need for accessibility standards for SSTMs, existing standards and resources, and strategies for accessibility. They were joined by representatives from NCR, which has developed a Universal Navigator interface for SSTMs, and Vispero, a company that has created a kiosk interface that integrates JAWS screen-reading software.

Meeting of the U.S. Access Board (Virtual)

May 19, 1:00 – 4:30 (ET)

Event recording:
Presentation materials are available in PPT (9MB) or PDF (2MB) formats. The second panel discussion includes a spreadsheet (.xlsx on Google Docs) and video (YouTube).


1:00 – 3:15 Inclusive Interfaces: Accessibility to Self-Service Transaction Machines (SSTMs)

  • Welcome, Sachin Pavithran, Executive Director
  • 1:00 – 2:00 Panel Discussion on Usability Issues
    • Mark Hill, Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumer Advocacy Network
    • Donald D. Overton, Jr., Blinded Veterans Association
    • Clayton Lewis, Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities
    • Dave Pierson, United Spinal Association
  • 2:00 – 2:10 Overview of Existing ADA & Section 508 Standards, Bruce Bailey
  • 2:10 – 3:15 Panel Discussion on SSTM Accessibility
    • Craig Keefner, Kiosk Manufacturer Association
    • Dr. Gregg Vanderheiden and Bern Jordan, The Trace Center
    • Phil Day, NCR
    • Laura Boniello Miller, Vispero

3:15 – 3:30 Break

3:30 – 4:30 Regular Board Business

  • Introductory Remarks
  • Standing and Ad Hoc Committee Reports
  • Election Assistance Commission
  • Executive Director’s Report
  • New Business