Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


The Public Right-of-Way Accessibility Guidelines (PROWAG) rulemaking has concluded. The PROWAG final rule has been published in the Federal Register. Please visit the Access Board’s PROWAG page for the guidelines.

U.S. Access Board to Host Panel Discussions on Self-Service Transaction Machines

May 04, 2021

The U.S. Access Board will host panel discussions on access to self-service transaction machines (SSTMs), including point-of-sales machines and ticket kiosks, as part of its next virtual Board meeting on May 19 from 1:00 – 3:15 (ET). One panel will include representatives from advocacy organizations who will discuss usability issues and accessibility barriers. Another panel will address efforts by research and industry to improve access to SSTMs. The public is welcome to attend this event. Registration is not required.

Following the panel discussions and a short break, the Board will reconvene to conduct regular business from 3:30 – 4:30 (ET). The agenda includes brief reports from the Executive Director, Board committees, and Election Assistance Commission. For more information, visit the Board’s webpage.

You may attend the meeting through the platform or by phone (listen-only mode). The meeting will include video remote interpreting (VRI) and real-time captioning. For further information, visit the Board’s website or contact Rose Marie Bunales at

Meeting of the U.S. Access Board (Virtual)
May 19, 1:00 – 4:30 (ET)
Meeting Link:
Meeting ID: 160 433 4769
Call-in numbers: Phone (listen only): 1 (646) 828 7666 (New York) or 1 (669) 254 5252 (San Jose); see international numbers


1:00 – 3:15 Inclusive Interfaces: Accessibility to Self-Service Transaction Machines (SSTMs)

  • Welcome, Sachin Pavithran, Executive Director
  • 1:00 – 2:00 Panel Discussion on Usability Issues
    • Mark Hill, Deaf and Hard of Hearing Consumer Advocacy Network
    • Donald D. Overton, Jr., Blinded Veterans Association
    • Clayton Lewis, Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities
    • Dave Pierson, United Spinal Association
  • 2:00 – 2:10 Overview of Existing ADA & Section 508 Standards, Bruce Bailey
  • 2:10 – 3:15 Panel Discussion on SSTM Accessibility
    • Craig Keefner, Kiosk Manufacturer Association
    • Dr. Gregg Vanderheiden and Bern Jordan, The Trace Center
    • Phil Day, NCR
    • Laura Boniello Miller, Vispero

3:15 – 3:30 Break

3:30 – 4:30 Regular Board Business

  • Introductory Remarks
  • Standing and Ad Hoc Committee Reports
  • Election Assistance Commission
  • Executive Director’s Report
  • New Business