Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


The Public Right-of-Way Accessibility Guidelines (PROWAG) rulemaking has concluded. The PROWAG final rule has been published in the Federal Register. Please visit the Access Board’s PROWAG page for the guidelines.

Access Board Members

The U.S. Access Board is structured to function as a coordinating body among federal agencies and to directly represent the public, particularly people with disabilities. Twelve members of the Governing Board are representatives from federal departments. The other thirteen are comprised of members of the public appointed by the President to four-year terms. Every year, the Governing Board elects officers, including a Chair and Vice-Chair. These posts alternate between a public member and a federal member. Board Members meet quarterly over the course of three days. Visit the Board Meetings page for more information.

Members of the public who wish to seek appointment to the Access Board (officially named the Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board) should visit the White House website for further information or contact the White House Office of Presidential Personnel. For a list of past Governing Board Members, visit the Former Public Board Members page. For a list of past Governing Board Chairs and Vice-Chairs, visit the Governing Board Chairs and Vice-Chairs page.