Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dr. Sachin Dev Pavithran Named Executive Director of the U.S. Access Board

December 08, 2020

The U.S. Access Board has named Dr. Sachin Dev Pavithran as its new Executive Director. Dr. Pavithran, a member of the Board for eight years, succeeds David M. Capozzi, who retired in June.

Portrait of Dr. Sachin Dev Pavithran

“I am both excited and humbled to lead an agency that has done so much to make our world a more welcoming and inclusive place for everyone,” Dr. Pavithran stated. “I look forward to helping the agency build upon its notable accomplishments so that it can continue to provide leadership in accessibility both in the U.S. and across the globe.”

Dr. Pavithran was appointed to the Access Board as a public member in 2012 and reappointed to a second term four years later. During his tenure, he served terms as Chair and as Vice Chair of the Board. In addition, he was active in the Board’s update of its Section 508 Standards for information and communication technology in the federal sector.

“On behalf of the Access Board, I heartily congratulate Sachin on his appointment,” noted Board Chair Lance Robertson of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. “He brings dedication, proven leadership, and a wealth of expertise and experience to the position.”

Dr. Pavithran has served as Program Director of the Utah Assistive Technology Program and as the Director of Policy for the Center for Persons with Disabilities at Utah State University since 2011. He has over twenty years of experience developing and testing assistive technology and has lectured and trained extensively on the subject.

He is President of the Association of University Centers on Disabilities’ national board and is a member of the National Federation of the Blind where he chairs the Committee on Autonomous Vehicles and Innovations in Transportation. He was appointed to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Utah Advisory Committee and has represented the Access Board on the U.S. Elections Assistance Commission’s Board of Advisors.