March 9, 2016

Michael K. Yudin 
blye vc 

The Access Board unanimously elected Michael K. Yudin of the U.S. Department of Education as Chair. As Secretary for Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, Yudin serves as the Secretary of Education's principal adviser on special education, vocational rehabilitation, and disability and rehabilitation research. He previously served as Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for the Office of Elementary and Secondary Education and as Acting Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education. Yudin, who previously served a term as Board Chair in 2014, succeeds Sachin Dev Pavithran of Logan, Utah as Board Chair.

The Board elected Regina Blye as its Vice Chair. Blye, a Board member from Austin, Texas, is the Executive Director of the Texas State Independent Living Council where she works collaboratively with a Governor-appointed statewide board of directors and staff to build a more visible and informed community. She is a member of several national and statewide boards such as SILC Congress, NCIL, APRIL, Traumatic Brain Injury Advisory Council, Access Empowerment, and the Coalition of Texans with Disabilities.

The Board is structured to function as a coordinating body among Federal agencies and to directly represent the public, particularly people with disabilities. Half of its members are representatives from most of the Federal departments. The other half is comprised of members of the public appointed by the President. The terms of Board chair and vice chair are limited to one year.