August 21, 2008

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

The meeting was opened by Mr. Silverstein (Committee Facilitator) with nine of the 10 member organizations present. The Epilepsy Foundation of America was absent.

Mr. Beatty (Designated Federal Official) provided the committee with seven handouts (listed in the preliminary agenda). The committee approved the February 2008 meeting minutes (Handout 1) without changes. Mr. Silverstein briefly reviewed Handouts 1 through 6 to remind the committee where it started from and some of the material that played a role in creating the draft consensus document of March 19, 2008 (Handout 7).

Throughout the remainder of the day, the committee worked to resolve the concerns raised by the Cruise Lines International Association about the March document. The committee also made changes to the draft consensus document based on other committee member concerns.

During the course of the discussions about Recommendation #1 in the draft document, the committee directed that the meeting minutes reflect that paragraph (2) in that recommendation is not meant to trigger extensive studies to determine “as effective as”.

Near the end of the day, the committee directed Mr. Beatty to make cleanup edits to the draft consensus document and to email it to the committee members for review.

At the end of the day, a period of public comment was provided. As no public participants desired to comment, the committee adjourned around 4:30 PM.

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Mr. Silverstein opened the second day of the meeting. All member organizations were present, except the Epilepsy Foundation of America.

The committee continued its work on the recommendations in the draft consensus document. After lunch, the committee worked on the portion of the final report that did not relate to the consensus recommendations. The committee discussed the committee’s report presentation to the Access Board that would be made on September 10, 2008.

At 4:30 PM, the committee allowed a time for public comment, and Ms. Arielle Schacter provided comment.

At the end of the meeting, Mr. Beatty was directed to email the current draft of the final report that included the consensus recommendations for committee review. Committee members would consult their organizations and inform Mr. Beatty as soon as possible their position on the final report. The meeting adjourned around 5 PM.

Attachment – Meeting Attendees

Committee Members
Matthew Bakke Gallaudet University
David Chapman Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers
Lise Hamlin Community Emergency Preparedness Information Network
Barbara Raimondo National Association of the Deaf
Lee Richardson National Fire Protection Association
Janice Schacter Hearing Loss Association of America America (HLAA)
Hearing Access Program (same representative as HLAA)
Ted Thompson Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA)
Ed Welch Passenger Vessel Association
(absent) Epilepsy Foundation
Bobby Silverstein Committee Facilitator

Access Board
Paul Beatty Designated Federal Official, Access Board
James Raggio General Counsel, Access Board
Lawrence Roffee Executive Director, Access Board
Elizabeth Stewart Board Member, Access Board

Public Participants
Tiffany Bergman Holland America Line
LCDR Marie Byrd US Coast Guard (12th only)
Jay Cardinali Walt Disney Parks and Resorts
Steve Cmar Norwegian Cruise Line
Mike Jones Carnival Shipbuilding
Vicki Langlois Disney Cruise Line
Peter Lauridsen Passenger Vessel Association
Lou Nash US Coast Guard
Ron Pettit Royal Caribbean International & Celebrity Cruises

Arielle Schacter

Kay Strawderman Carnival Cruise Line
Jim Swindler Golden Gate Ferry